Making my first offer

After looking at a bunch of houses I was worried that what I really wanted didn’t exist.  I told my realtor that I wanted an older home with character.  In need of updates and minor repairs was even better.  I don’t want anything huge-three bedrooms or two bedrooms and an area I can devote to crafts would be perfect.

This house is 2 bedrooms, one bath, 944 square feet and built in 1918.  It had a decent kitchen and a nice sized laundry room.  The best part was a large open room above the garage that I thought would be perfect for crafts.

Image

As I met my realtor after 5:oo PM I told her I would meet her at her office the next day when I got off work to put in the offer.  I e-mailed the woman doing my financing the next morning when I got to work and she quickly replied.  She said she was excited for me and that she knew I had been looking for a long time and she was happy to hear that not only had I finally found something but that it was well within my budget.  I told her that I’d be meeting with my realtor that afternoon to put the offer in and asked her to send over my pre-approval letter.  I left work at 2:00 PM and as I was headed to my realtor’s office she called me and said that she still hadn’t gotten the pre-approval letter and that she hadn’t been able to get a hold of my “mortgage lady” all day.  When I got off the phone with her I called my “mortgage lady” and asked her what was going on.  She said, “Oh, I have bad news…I don’t have a loan for you!”  I had been working with this woman from the beginning.  She told me I was approved and gave me a budget and she laughed as she told me I no longer had a loan.  In tears I called my realtor back and told her that I couldn’t place the offer that day.  I then called my parents, in tears and near hysterics.

As I told people at work my (first) home-buying-horror story one of the girls suggested I contact the woman who recently helped her.  Even though I thought I wouldn’t get approved I submitted an application and waited for the “I’m sorry, but no” e-mail to come.  It didn’t.  By that afternoon I had a pre-approval letter in my inbox-something I couldn’t get from the first woman in two years!

On 9/15/2012, letter in hand I went back to my realtor and placed my offer.  My offer was almost immediately accepted by the owner but because it was a short sale I had to wait for the bank to accept it also.  I had heard that this could be a long process so I continued to look at other properties, just in case I found something I liked more….

Asking price: $78,000 (it finally sold in January 2013 for $92,000)

Smelled like: old carpet, almost 100 years of living

Haunted: I don’t think so

I don’t regret not buying this house.  After going back to look at it a second time I realized that the only way to access the only bathroom was through one of the bedrooms.  I think 90% of the time this would have been fine but I know it would have gotten old having to keep my room presentable just in case someone had to go through it to get to the bathroom.

I ended up withdrawing my offer on this house on 10/3/2012 because I fell in love with “The House That Broke My Heart” but I do still drive by it every once in a while to see how the new owners are fixing it up.

Image

-A

Leave a Reply

