Ready for Spring!

I can’t wait for Spring mostly because I can’t wait for the outside of my house to stop looking so terrible!

Let’s begin with a tour of the back yard:

Image

The first problem to tackle back here is that white fence.  Right now Henry doesn’t jump it (although I know he can) so I haven’t been too worried about it.  Plus I want to put lilac bushes all the way along that back fence which will eventually grow tall and thick enough to keep Henry out but won’t provide a lot of privacy in the fall and winter.  Options for a new fence include carrying on with the wood that’s on all the other sides (my first choice) or doing a cheaper chain link which will be hidden for most of the year (although also won’t provide any privacy.)

I’m also thinking that right hand corner in the back will make the most logical garden are but I haven’t done anything to prepare it.

Image

That shed is in good shape and has insulation and Pergo (I know!) floors.  I don’t know what I’ll do with it yet but long term I’m thinking about getting some old windows and making it into a little greenhouse.

Image

The grill will stay on the cement patio but there’s really not enough room for a table or seating so I’m going to have to find a place in the yard to put a table and chairs.  I’m thinking about reusing all that old brick in my driveway to make another hard surface between the cement and the garden.

Image

I’m hoping I can sell the gate, fencing and posts at a yard sale (or on Craigslist if I can’t stand to look at them anymore.)  I also want to put yellow rose bushes all along the side of the house and then just gravel in the rest.  I’m not looking to spend whole weekends mowing and tending to my lawn and nobody really goes over here.

The driveway:

Image

Image

The ultimate goal for me is to pave the driveway.  I can’t shovel it the way it is now and it’s going to be a sloppy, soupy mess for the next 2 months.  I’m thinking maybe some flowers along the fence and just a clean up on the side of the house.  I also think a window box under the kitchen window would be nice but I don’t want people to hit their heads (or shoulders) on it so I’ll have to think on it a little bit.

And finally the front yard:

Image

Once the grass comes in I think I’ll be pretty happy with this section of yard.  I’m picturing peonies in that bed along the front edge and then leaving everything on this side the same.

Image

 Of course more grass here and then a tree a little to the left of that stump and more peonies across the front.

Image

I want another windowbox under that window and eventually a front porch.  For now getting rid of the red bark and cleaning that flower bed up will make a huge difference

Image

I don’t think I’ll do much here (besides remove the red bark.)  I think I’ll see how the grass comes up and see if I need to find same plants to fill in some bare spots.

Image

Wow-planning it all out makes me realize this is going to be a lot of work!  I can’t wait for the snow to melt so I can start clearing out that bark and the debris in the backyard!

-A

Leave a Reply

