Bathroom Progress

Do you remember back in 2013 when I wrote this post?  My plans have changed in the last 7 months but one thing hasn’t-I want that beadboard in my bathroom!

This week I got it-but not without some problems.

Here’s what happened from the beginning (just a warning-the pictures aren’t awesome-this room has no natural light and is small and hard to get a good angle):

Image

This was where I started

Image

Image

I knew I needed to get the baseboard in first and I thought it would be a breeze.  It wasn’t.  I’m sure you’re surprised but I did use a level which only showed me how out of wack this room is.  I started with the baseboard on the floor by the door but by the time it got to the bathtub it was more than an inch off.  I wanted to do this project right so I put it up level and will find trim to put on the bottom to cover up the space by the floor.

Image

The level problems only started at the floor.  Yikes.

Image

Image

And then there was those boards holding up the surround to contend with.

Image

I got the beadboard up and then installed the picture ledge on top.

Image

Whomp whomp.  The ledge was too wide and I couldn’t open the door wide enough for people to get in or out.

So I took the ledge down.  Lowe’s is 30 minutes away and I really didn’t want to spend the time driving up there and trying to find a something else.  So I scoured my house and finally found some trim from another project hiding out in the old chicken coop.

Image

With this happy find I also came across another problem.  Nails are impossible to use in these plaster walls so I had to use a few screws to hold everything in.  I know that’s not the right way to do it but it was the only way I could get this stuff to stay on the wall!

Image

Image

Image

I painted that strip of wood on the side of the tub to try and blend it in with the surround until I can figure out another solution.

Image

Finally!  A dream realized!

Image

I had these hooks in my craft closet and I love them so much more than a towel bar.  I’m anxious to get more decorations up and I need baseboard in the rest of the room (and something to cover that gap by the floor) but I’m feeling like I’m finally able to mark this off the original to do list!

Image

11 thoughts on “Bathroom Progress

  1. Pingback: Big Picture Redo |

Leave a Reply

