Kitchen Trim is Done!

I hit a few snags but as of right now, the trim is all up, the cracks have been caulked and the strip under the window is painted.  Remember how it looked in the beginning? And then after Phase II?

Here’s what my kitchen looks like now:

trim9

 

What, don’t notice a difference?  We’ll look a little closer but first, let me show you my first snag:

trim1

 

I didn’t clean up the Liquid Nails while it was wet.  In fact, I didn’t clean it up until a week later which was a bad idea.  Don’t do as I did.  Those pretty pink nails?  Gone.  Before I settled on the pen cap being the best tool for this job I tried a razor blade (dangerous.) and a golf tee (splinters.)  This pen cap and my own pretty pink nails scraped this off.  Not easily, but it worked.

trim4

 

This toothpaste tube of caulk was awesome.  I started out using one of those ratcheting gun things and it was awful.  It was hard to get up under the cabinets and I felt like I was making a bigger mess.  I got one in Almond and one in white and got the job done cleanly and easily.

trim7

 

I used the almond caulk on cabinet side around every piece I wasn’t painting.  So around the window and under the cabinets.  Then I used the white on everything around the window.  It’s amazing what a difference some caulk makes!  I love how finished and clean it all looks now.

trim6

 

The gaps under the window were so deep I had to put on two layers of caulk.  This is layer one.  The tile side of this strip also got almond caulk.

Once all the caulk was dry I got to painting that trim under the window.

trim8

 

Snag two happened when I started painting with my white trim paint.  It was at this point that I remembered that we didn’t paint the trim in the kitchen when I moved in.  It was already white and it good shape so we left it.  Unfortunately, the new clean white paint made the old paint look, well, old.  So all the trim around the window got a new coat of white paint.

And all that brings us back to here:

trim10

 

A whole lot of work that most people will probably never notice.

Because I’m so proud of this project let me show you close up side by side before and afters:

trimcol1

 

Yikes!  Remember that?  How did I live with it for a whole year??

trimcol2Looks like it’s always been there, right?

The wheels for my island arrived today and the legs should be here tomorrow along with my new hardware!  Basically I’ll be sitting by my door tapping my foot waiting for the UPS guy to show up so I can finish this baby up!

-A

 

 

3 thoughts on “Kitchen Trim is Done!

Leave a Reply

