Year One Wrap Up

On September 3, 2013 I published this post.  Check out what’s done, what’s not changing and what I’m keeping on the list for Year Two!

The befores and the plan

Laundry Room

ImageTo do:

  • Paint the walls, ceiling and door  See it here!
  • Turn the unsafe half wall into a full wallDone!
  • Add baseboards and trim-Kinda?

Kitchen

Image

ImageThe kitchen has so many weird angles and an odd layout that it’s hard to get a good photo of it!

To do:

  • Paintall the way back in Week 3!
  • New ceiling fan-nope, decided I actually like the one that’s there!
  • Add cabinets and open shelving to the North wall around the stoveWeek 16!  Merry Christmas to me!
  • Take down the bead board (and relocate the good pieces to the hall bathroom)also done in Week 3
  • Repair the plaster wallsYep, Week 3 again!
  • Someday replace the drawer pulls and knobsDone in the last 2 weeks of year 1!

Hallway

Image

The right side of this picture shows where the stove, new cabinets and shelves will go.

To do:

  • Paintdone in Week 2!
  • Figure out a way to make the laminate closet door look 100 years old-I put a pretty knob on it and forget it’s even there!
  • *eventually* find out if the floors running through the rest of the house are under the laminate floor (I REALLY hope they are!)-Yeah, no, still haven’t done this.  I do want to though!

Guest room

Image

Image

To do:

  • Paint, paint, paint!Man!  It took me a whole month to get around to this!
  • New ceiling fan-it’s in the basement, does that count??
  • Fix the closet doors/make them look old (they won’t stay closed and they’re that plain, white fake wood.  I hate them.)-aside from paint, haven’t even touched them
  • Redo the shelves in the corner closet (seen in the 2nd photo.)  The shelves aren’t installed very well and they’re weird heights.  It will be my temporary crafts closet and I want to be able to organize my bins.- this ended up not being an issue at all, so it has stayed exactly the same!
  • Take out the door (on the right in this picture) and wall it up-the layout of this room doesn’t make sense (there are two doors into this room)Week Two again

Hall bath

Image

To do:

  • PaintWeek 3 again!
  • Move the medicine cabinet that’s over the toilet to over the sinkWeek 5
  • Change out the faucet, knobs and showerhead-knobs done, no new shower head 😦
  • Finish trim around tub-see the plan here
  • Add bead board to the wall on the left-only took me 7 months!

Master bedroom

Image

To do:

  • PaintWeek 3 was busy!
  • Replace ceiling fan-again, in the basement
  • Finish adding trim around the baseboards-nope, but furniture now covers it so nobody will know unless I rearrange!
  • Paint the closet (a walk in-I KNOW!)-it got a coat of white at some point early on but I don’t think I blogged it
  • Put outlets on the closet wall and inside closet (so I can have light in there!)-You guessed it, Week 3!
  • Add organizers to closet-I’ve started working on this-stay tuned!
  • Install carpet/flooring in the closet-still no, but it’s in the plan!

1/2 Bath

ImageTo do:

  • Strip the wall paper (actually already done-thanks mom!)
  • PaintWeek 2!
  • Replace the light fixtureWeek 3
  • Replace the vanity-I don’t love the vanity but it doesn’t bother me any more
  • Replace the toilet-Week 2
  • Replace the medicine cabinetthe switcheroo happened in Week 5
  • Install outlets in the bathroom (there aren’t any right now!)Week 3 again!

Living are 1 (soon to be office area)

Image

My camera battery was dying at this point-flash was hit or miss

Image

To do:

  • See that doorway into the green room in the second photo?  It’s going away!Woo hoo Week 2!
  • PaintWeek 4
  • Turn the wall sconces over-they were installed upside down and they collect bugs and are a pain to clean-again, ended up not being that big of a deal so I never did it.

Main living area

Image

Image

To do:

  • Paint-Week 4, and not a minute too late-it got baaaaaad in there!
  • Remove the mirrorsWeek 2
  • Remove the tile above the fireplace.  The mantle is great and I don’t love, but can live with the tile on the hearth-Week 2 (not pretty!)
  • Replace the ceiling fanI replaced the glass shades in Week 7 and now I’m not replacing the fan!
  • Create some built ins to the right of the fire place for the TV, DVD player, cable box etc…-I don’t know if I’ll do this.  I’m liking the dresser I have there now…

Outside

Image

Image

Yes, that’s my reflection in the GLASS they used to construct these sheds

Yikes, right?

To do:

  • Paint-We painted the bad parts but now I’m thinking I’ll save up for new siding instead of painting the whole thing
  • Replace the front door-This was done on Day 3!  The screen door was broken and the front door didn’t lock without a padlock so we got right on that!  And then it got an update here!
  • Lay out grass seed/fertilizer this fall and hope for grass next springWell, I had grass for a minute but then this happened.  So, I’ll try again this year.
  • Trim up the bottom three feet of that blue spruce out front so it doesn’t scrape my car as I pull in and out of my drivewaythis got done early on but I must not have blogged about it. ..
  • Fix the gate to the left of the house-it scrapes the ground and doesn’t open properly-nope, not done yet
  • Plant a garden and flowers…someday!-flowers happened: roses, peonies and chicks and hens, gladiolas and more gladiolas
  • Build a real fence around the whole yard starting with the corner where the nasty sheds are-eventually have a driveway that leads straight from the street to the alleyWeek 10!
  • Tear out the old, ugly fencesWeek 6 and more Week 6
  • Install siding to the laundry room additionAgain with the Week 6es here and here
  • Have the apple tree pruned-happening this fall but check out how her year has been! Here, here and here

I don’t have pictures of the tiny entry way (which is one of my favorite parts of the house) but I will take some tomorrow!

Also tomorrow I’ll show you what I’ve already completed!

Now I’m ready for bed!

-A

Wasn’t that fun?  Going through all my old posts made me tired all over again!  I can’t wait to see what year two holds for me and my house!

-A

Leave a Reply

