Looking Back

Before my house was mine I was living in my parents’ house, looking at lots of houses and wishing and praying for a house of my own.  While I was waiting I furiously pinned ideas, paint colors and furniture and made this binder:

binder1

 

In it are pages for every room with paint colors, curtains, rugs, furniture and decorations.  I made this binder and then never opened it during the early days of crazy construction and then moving.  So, let’s see how well I remembered what I wanted to do:

entrycollage

 

Light grey on the walls with coral accents and of course, that mirror (this one a housewarming present from my brother and his girlfriend.)  The brick is on the floor and I ended up finding a shade to put on the light in here that I like more than the fixture in my original plan.  I won’t mess with the closet-it’s too narrow and I want to keep the original door.

LRcollage2

 

Blinds will come in September and I got that curtain rod months ago.  While I still love those curtains, I found myself keeping this room lighter than I had originally thought I would.  I don’t remember where I was going to put that grey (although there is some on the picture ledge) but I did put a pretty blue green on the walls.

LR collage1

 

I was set on chocolate brown on the walls in here until I realized that the dark color wouldn’t let the baseboards shine.  I was undecided about what color to do in here until my mom’s friend offered me this free paint.  I’m so happy I gave up the dark paint for this light tan.  I think it kind of fades into the background and lets the floors, trim and furniture take center stage.  Again, blinds next month but notice the curtain rod.  I still want that couch BAD but I’m still saving.  The free, dark wood dresser is a nice antique alternative to the mass produced fake wood media stand that I thought I wanted.

kitchencollage

 

Green walls, wood tones, silver platters and curtains, check, check, check, check.  I still love that tile but now I think I’d like something more neutral and I still haven’t decided on whether I’m going to buy blinds for this window yet.

bathcollage

 

Done-waffle weave shower curtain, beadboard, and beachy decorations.  The bathmat and whale soap dishes were my first purchases for my house.

guestcollage

 

I went with white blinds instead of wood and I took down the yellow chevron as soon as I found this duvet.  The original bedding I wanted was flowery (pretty, but girlier than I wanted) and I’m so happy with the change.  I like this bed frame more than the metal one I originally liked and stayed with gold accents in here.

mastercollage

 

My plan for my bedroom was grey and white with lots of texture.  This headboard was $7 from a thrift store.  While not the clean lines of the one I liked first, I like it better because it’s old and I got a great deal on it!  I’m happy with my solid light grey curtains (still love these but the greys don’t match) and have added mirrored and silver accents around the room.  I would L O V E  the lights on the wall by the bed (and the ones I love are just plug ins) but the outlet on that wall doesn’t work so I haven’t bought them yet.

I’m busily working on things I want to add in each room so hang around a year and see how much I get done!

-A

Leave a Reply

