Outside

I bought my house at the very end of summer and knew I wasn’t going to do much until Spring.  The first priority was getting those sheds out so I could drive through to the alley

 

backyardbd1

 

Plus, look how terrible they were on the yard side!

I also wanted to trim up the pine tree in the front yard so it wouldn’t scrape my car as I drove by

pinetreed1

 

Things were good for a minute this spring but it went downhill fast:

outside3

 

All that green?  Weeds.  They need to be cut but it’s been too rainy the last couple of days.

outside2

 

The pine tree is doing well but all the gladiolas have died.

outside7

 

I actually think that people see the outside of my house and think I must live in a dump.  I hope to change that next year!

outside5

 

I’m helping my dad build these two HUGE planter boxes to put off the side of my cement patio.  Those tall posts at each corner?  For lights.  🙂

outside6

 

Here’s my dirt garden.  It’s doing pretty well, as you can see.  I plan to replace the picket fence in the back with the 6′ cedar fence that’s on the other two sides.  I want to relocate the picket fence to the front by the rock wall to keep people (me) from falling.

outside9

 

Here’s a better view of where the planters will go; on the dirt right off the edge of the cement.

outside8

 

You can see I’ve lost a branch on the apple tree that’ll have to come down.  I’m hoping that all the new growth at the bottom and in the center means it’s still doing okay.  I’ll have someone come out next month to prune it and let me know if she’s going to make it.

outside12

 

Yeah, I’ve pretty much killed everything back here.   😦  I don’t have a spigot back here and I was sick of hauling the hose so I just used a watering can but I don’t think stuff got enough water.  My pan is to call a plumber to come out and put a spigot on this side of the house so I won’t have this problem next year.

outside11

 

As you can see, all the roses didn’t make it.

roses6

Dead

roses5

Almost dead.

roses1

Doing alright.

roses4

Doing GREAT!  Surprisingly, this bush is the one that’s gotten the least amount of attention from me.  Sigh.

outside14

 

We’ve been getting great storms the last couple of days and it’s been nice to watch them roll in over the mountains in the afternoons.

Tomorrow (the 27th) is year ONE!  I can’t wait!

-A

 

 

One thought on “Outside

Leave a Reply

