Puncturevines

My tree lawn is infested with terribly pretty weeds that hurt so bad when you touch them.  We’ve been calling them goat’s heads but a Google search tells me that they’re actually called Puncturevines which is the perfect name for them.

My mother has been weeding my tree lawn all summer (with two pairs of gloves on at a time!) and she’s done.  Never again.

treelawn2

 

Those pretty flowers?  Deadly.

goatshead3

 

See those green blobs?

goatshead2

 

See why they’re called goat’s heads?  They hurt when they’re green but when they dry out they break apart and look like this

goatshead1

 

Tiny little devils.  It’s like they jump out and impale themselves into your feet when you’re not expecting it.

goatshead5

 

They come in on shoes and lay (lie?) in wait for you to walk through with bare feet.  Then they drive themselves all the way into your foot and draw blood.  I’m not kidding.

So, the point of this post is that my tree lawn is getting a makeover.  After a steal of a deal at Wal-Mart today I now have a plan for this strip of land and I hope to show you Phase I soon!

-A

4 thoughts on “Puncturevines

  1. Pingback: Little Projects |

Leave a Reply

