When in Doubt…

…put it on a shelf.  Seriously.

Here’s my tip to people who either A) love old houses or B) are indecisive: put up shelves.  Plaster walls are awful to patch and paint-no matter how meticulous you are, you can still see the spots that were patched.  So, if you’re like me and have to move things around a million times before you like them, put it on a shelf.

For example, take this wall in my kitchen.  I can’t even count how many times I’ve changed it up in here:

006 (4)

Bad beadboard and unfinished walls

kitchen3e

Here it was in it’s post-beadboard-freshly-painted state

kitchen3e

and then I put up the painted blue frames with vacation pictures in them

kitchen4

then it got a small laminate shelf

wine4

and then the pallet wine shelves

kitchen1

and now, finally, some narrow shelves/wide picture ledges.  They were in my bedroom until it occurred to me that they’d be perfect in here.  Now I can change stuff as often as I want without putting more holes in the walls.  You better believe that these will be going up in my bedroom and the laundry room (just as soon as I can get to IKEA!)

-A

2 thoughts on “When in Doubt…

Leave a Reply

