Chicken With Grilled Lime Dressing

Tonight when I got home from work I searched my kitchen for something to make for dinner.  I settled on grilled chicken with grilled veggies, corn cakes and grilled lime dressing.

(I am not a food blogger and today I understand why.  It’s freaking hard to take pictures of yourself cooking!)

recipe1

 

First I grilled onions, corn, jalapenos and limes.  Have you grilled limes before?  You should.  They get really sweet and the juice runs right out of them.

recipe2

 

I threw some chicken breasts in a bowl with (ungrilled) lime juice, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes.  They didn’t marinate for long-just while I was chopping the veggies and getting them started on the grill.

recipe3

 

Once the corn was done (not too brown, just warm and softened) I let it cool while I started on my corn cakes.  I used two boxes of the Jiffy cornbread mix and followed the directions for corn pancakes.

recipe4

 

Then I cut the kernels off the cobs and chopped a jalapeno and threw them in the mix

recipe7

 

 

and then into a preheated non-stick pan they went.

recipe6

 

While those were cooking I started juicing my limes.  You really don’t need a juicer, this was an impulse buy from Ross ($2.99-what a deal!) a while back and figured I should get my money’s worth.

recipe8

 

I always mess up the first pancake.  Don’t worry, even though it was ugly, it was delicious.

recipe9

 

Once the limes were juiced I poured them into a jar with some salt, a teaspoon of sugar and some oil.  Them I put the lid on and shook it like crazy.

recipe10

 

Then I chopped up the chicken, onions and jalapenos and put them on top of a cake.  Then I drizzled on some of the dressing and dug in.  This would also be delicious with some avocado and some cheese but it doesn’t need it.  I thought about adding lettuce but I don’t really like lettuce.  I figure there are fruits and/or vegetables in every component of this dish so salad wasn’t really necessary. 🙂

-A

 

Leave a Reply

