Do You See What I See?

heat1

 

No, no, no.  Not the tree, this:

heat2

 

My house was coooooold when I got home from work last night.  I didn’t think much of it initially because I like to keep my house on the cool side but after climbing into bed I realized that it felt colder than usual.  I went to the living room to check the temperature and found it was at 58 degrees.  I keep it set at 65 so I figured my pilot light might have gone out again.  I wasn’t thrilled (why am I not nervous in the basement during the day but at night it seems like a scary, scary place?  weird.) but I thought, “I know how to do this, I’ll have heat in 5 minutes, no problem.”

Not the case.  I followed all the steps (which I’ve now done a couple of times) and nothing.  So I pulled out an extra blanket and climbed back into bed.  When I woke up this morning it was a toasty 52 degrees in here.  Honestly, I was pleasantly surprised that the temperature inside only dropped 6 degrees.  I live in an old drafty house with old windows and gaps in my floorboards so I figured outside would suck all this heat out and the fact that it didn’t made me love my sweet little house even more!

Obviously I called my dad as soon as the sun came up and he came over to try to fire up the furnace.  He couldn’t.  So, for the first time in a year I called someone other than my dad to fix a problem in my house.

heat3

 

I was nervous that the person they sent would tell me to scrap the old furnace and buy a new one.  Sure, that’s the plan but I’d like to do that this spring/summer instead of in the dead of freaking winter.

The man they sent was so nice.  I explained my concerns and he said that he has “worked on older furnaces” and that he would do his best to fix what was needed to get me through this winter.  I asked him to estimate how old the furnace is and he said that last week he worked on one from the 1950s and this one seemed newer.  So now I’m thinking it’s from the 60s?  70s maybe?  Anyway, still older than me.

He figured out the problem really quickly and it turns out the thermocouple was too far from the flame (?) and that was why it was so hard to a) light and b) stay lit.  He fixed that but said that a new thermocouple is a quick and inexpensive repair.  I told him to go ahead and replace it and within 30 minutes I was signing my check and he was checking to make sure there wasn’t any carbon dioxide blowing around my house.

So for less than $115.00 I have peace of mind and heat.  I know I got lucky and I probably won’t get this lucky again so it’s time to sit down and do some research and make a plan for my heating and cooling.

As a side note, when I realized I was going to have to have a stranger in my basement I was sosososososo glad that my mother and I finally got around to cleaning my basement last week.   Can you imagine what this nice guy would have thought it he walked in and saw this:

basement7

 

That would have been really embarrassing!

-A

PS-Thanks for sticking around even though my posting has been so sporadic.  I’m still cameraless and I’ve been waiting to tackle some bigger projects until I can properly photograph them and post about them

 

One thought on “Do You See What I See?

Leave a Reply

