How to Hang Christmas Lights Alone

1.  Don’t.

Seriously, it’s dangerous.  I’m lucky to be alive!

I have no outdoor outlets in the front of my house so I bought a string of solar powered lights from Amazon.  They came today and as soon as I got home I set out to putting them up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First I planted the sensor.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And then I ran the lights up to the trim I have running around the house.  As you can see, the ground was too far away and I had to start the lights off the house.  I knew this would bother me but I continued anyways.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s hard to see but I put in an eye hook and then attached the lights with a zip tie.  I figure that I can just leave the hooks each year and just reattach the lights each winter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I just pulled the lights tight and put in a hook at each corner

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and then wrapped it around, keeping it pulled tight.  If you like the scalloped look, obviously you don’t have to pull tightly but I knew I wanted them in a straight line.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The white trim isn’t at the same level across the front of the house.  It dips down where the front door is and then goes back up.  I couldn’t reach the higher level of the trim so I just kept the lights going around at the same height.  As you can see in the picture above, I didn’t have enough.  By a foot.

I called my mom and she suggested that I attach the sensor to the fence.  So I started over.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I attached it to the fence with a zip tie

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and started the lights on the trim instead of dangling down.  I probably should have started the lights and the corner but there wasn’t room for my ladder and I was just too nervous leaning over that far while standing on the top rung.  You’re welcome mom and dad.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I continued around using the hooks I put in the first time around.  As soon as I got to the window I knew I was going to have plenty of lights.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yeah, plenty.  I wrapped the extra around the other corner of the house and I’m living with it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As soon as I got done hanging my lights (twice) I noticed this beautiful sunset.  I took some pictures and waited for it to get dark.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think they’ll be brighter tomorrow.  The sensor only had about an hour to charge and I don’t think it had enough juice to really light them up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m so proud of me!  Ladies, even if you don’t live alone, take charge and go hang your Christmas lights (with a spotter.  Seriously, ladders are dangerous!)  Or mow the lawn.  Or fix something.  Or carry something heavy.  Or shovel your sidewalk.  Seriously, you’ll feel unstoppable.  And you will be!

-A

3 thoughts on “How to Hang Christmas Lights Alone

Leave a Reply

