Rugs for the Kitchen

Once I finished my floors I went out on the hunt for a rug.  There were really obvious wear patterns across the floor before we refinished it and I wanted to prevent that from happening again.

I wasn’t sure what kind of rug I wanted to I started searching.  I plugged several options into a little collage I made and found that I liked the look of a natural, textured rug:

kitchen collage

 

The rug in that picture is from IKEA (this one.)  While I liked the price, the nearest IKEA is hours and several miles of treacherous roads away and the cost of shipping would put it over $100.  I figured this would be a last resort-I wasn’t impressed by the textures (or smells) of the rugs I looked at the last time I was there so I knew there was a chance I would spend a lot of money (I know, for a 5’x7′ rug $100 is nothing to most people, but I’m cheap) and end up not loving it.

So I took a trip to Tuesday Morning hoping I’d find something natural with lots of texture for $100 or less.

rug1

 

Natural jute with green threads and edges for $99?  Done.  Even Henry approves.  I also bought that smaller rug at Tuesday Morning for $9.99.  I still really want something in front of my sink but I’m not loving this one.  I think I need to find a jute runner but again, I don’t want to spend a ton.

rug2

Of course, I swept and mopped my floor before I put my shiny new rug down and then this dog ran outside, found the mangiest old bone he could and ran back in with muddy feet to present it to me.  It’s a good thing I love him so much!

-A

One thought on “Rugs for the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

