Phone Calls to Dad, Episode 1

(this post could also have been called “An Embarrassing Post of How Little I Know”)

Call #1

Me: “Dad, I’m going to break in my compressor tonight.”

Dad: “Make sure you follow the instructions.”

Call #2 (30 minutes later)

Me: “The compressor is broken in and I got the air hose attached to it but I can’t figure out how to attach it to the nail gu-never mind, I just got it!”

Dad: “Call me if you have any other problems.”

Call #3 (probably less than 30 minutes later)

Me: “It’s not working!”

Dad: “Is the tank full?”

Me: “No.”

Dad: “Fill the tank and it should work.”

Call #4

Me: “The tank is full but nothing is happening!  I can’t get the output pressure to go above 0!”

Dad: “There should be a knob you turn to increase the pressure.”

Me: “I see that and I’ve tried turning it but it doesn’t turn very easily.”

Dad: “Force it.”

Me: “But there are warnings on every page of these manuals that the whole thing could explode!”

Dad: “It’s not going to blow up, just turn it.”

Me: “Okay.  Okay, it worked.”

Dad: “Call me back and let me know what happens.”

Call #5

Me: “It worked!”

Dad: “Good!”  (I think part of this was pride that I {kind of, a little} got this done by myself and part relief that he could watch TV without being interrupted every 30 minutes.)

-A

I still plan to post about this project tonight but it may be late.  Unless everything goes as planned, which has never happened in this house.

One thought on “Phone Calls to Dad, Episode 1

Leave a Reply

