My backyard is rough.  Not as rough as it was last year, but still not pretty.

I’ve been watering for about a month and I’m starting to think that a lush lawn in the whole backyard may just be a dream.

yard1Some of that green is grass but the majority of it is weeds.  This section of lawn straight out from my patio gets the most Henry traffic and I’m having a hard time keeping grass seed on it so I’m thinking I’m not going to fight it any more.

Daily trips to the shed or compost pile take a toll on your lawn, so replace trodden-down grass with gravel, stepping stones or pavers. Or use an eclectic mix of found materials, says Lawn Gone! author Pam Penick.

(found here)

I pinned that image months ago which is strange because usually I’m into orderly, matchy matchy but there’s something about the mix of stones that I really like.  Plus, I have bricks, pavers an flagstone already so hopefully this will be a relatively cheap project.

Red Creeping Thyme. Grows 3 inches tall max - no mowing . Lemony scent. Gorgeous with lavender. Perennial. Repels mosquitoes. Can grow as entire lawn. (this could be an answer for me!~~tko)Then I found this site and decided that thyme grown in between the rocks could be pretty perfect!

Plus I think I’m going to add backs to the raised beds I made a few weeks ago and move them into that space.

yard3As you can see, the closer you get to the side fence, the better the grass is growing

yard2 The area under the apple tree?  Growing like crazy!

But really nothing compares to my side yard:

yard4I’ve cut this grass twice this summer already-and it’s not even summer yet!

So this weekend I’m putting backs on the planters and filling them with dirt.  If I’m feeling motivated I’ll also start laying out a rough plan for the pavers.

-A

Leave a Reply

