I woke up this morning to a little mist in the air and thought that today would be the day that I’d finally put my plants in the ground.

It’s probably still a few weeks early so I’ll have to cover them at night but these guys really need more space!

plants1I started with my beans

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAwhich I put across the back so they can grow up my little gate trellis and then put a row of radishes in the front of the bed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALast year for Christmas my mom made me these adorable little seed packets full of seeds she harvested from her garden.  (and as you can see, the gentle mist quickly turned into full on rain!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThen I put two giant pumpkin plants to the right of the beans, along the back fence

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAand two blue pumpkins to the left.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI put two squash and two zucchini plants in one of my raised beds.  They’re going to overwhelm this container (I hope!) so my plan is to train them out over the edges and onto the ground.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATo finish out the planting in the back yard I transplanted my herbs into this long pot that will live on my patio.  Right now it’s basil and dill (because that’s what I had) but I think I’ll probably end up moving the dill somewhere else and just filling this with basil.  Because I don’t think it’s possible to have too much.

I still have a lot of seedlings left that I’d like to give away (looks like the work garden is a no-go) because I don’t think any one person could possibly need that much zucchini!

With everything in in the back yard and me already soaked, I went out front.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFirst I put some cardboard down in the bottom of my window box to keep the dirt in

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAand then filled it up and planted a bunch of pink and orange flower seeds.  I want this to be an explosion of color in the front of my otherwise plain house!

And, I failed to take a picture (just imagine a pot full of dirt) but I also planted orange, yellow and pink flower seeds in the pots on my tree lawn and a bunch of purple columbines among the irises out front.

Then I came inside to dry off and warm up!

I hope this weekend of rain makes everything grow like crazy!

-A

PS-those plastic cups are to remind me what is planted where.  Tomorrow I’ll show you the pretty plant markers I’m making to replace the ugly plastic cups!

5 thoughts on “Planting in the Rain

  1. Your garden is looking great.. I know it feels good to get your plants outside.. I have to wait a bit longer to garden outside as we had snow yesterday in Northern Ontario, Canada..

    Take care and I loved your blue gate for your beans…
    from Laura

    • Thank you! I’m in the Rockies in Colorado so I probably should have waited too (we had a blizzard last weekend!) but I just can’t help myself. Now I’ll be going out every night to cover them up for the next 3 weeks!

      • Aw, I know what you mean about going out to cover the plants, I did that for the past two years, every night. I’m trying my best to hold out, until mid May to plant out, but it’s so hard after such a long winter to wait to garden.. I hope your plants are alright and grow beautifully for you this spring.. The Rockies are so lovely in Colorado. Stay warm and happy gardening to ya, from Laura in Ontario, Canada…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

