First I need to say that I hate these.

In all my years of crafting I’ve never used Sculpey clay.  Now I know why.

There are pins all over Pinterest that are so cute and I really thought this would be easy.

Turns out, I’m not good with clay.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI thought I’d just form them into cute little stakes, write the plant names on them and then bake them.  I mean, I did do that, they just weren’t cute.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOnce they were baked I brushed on some paint, making sure it got into the letters, and then wiped it off.  Once the paint was dry I sealed them so they would stand up to the elements.

I really don’t know why I spent this much time on them, I knew I wasn’t going to like them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThey work, I know which plants are where, but I don’t like how they look.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI found the clay at Wal-Mart for 97¢ each and I had everything else on hand so I’m out less than $2.00 for this failed project, thankfully!

-A

5 thoughts on “Clay Plant Markers

  1. But they are organic-y shaped and will look adorable once the plants start growing. I love you showed this project which is a fail in your eyes, pinterest makes everything look do-able and it’s not true! And two bucks is a pretty cheap lesson on what we rock at! Great job anyway. 😉

Leave a Reply

