Between rainstorms today I got one thing done.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI sorted through the branches and picked four that were almost the same length.  I trimmed them

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAand put two in opposite corners.  I wired them together at the top

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAand then put the remaining two in the remaining corners.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI searched high and low for my ball of twine but couldn’t find it anywhere.  I blame Henry.  I had some green yarn so I went with that.  I wound it around the frame, twisting it around each branch as I went around and around.  Then I strung some down vertically and tied them to the bottom piece of yarn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd now I have a trellis for my cucumbers.  It’s sturdy and my cucumbers are supposed to be vines so I’m assuming this will work.  I also planted carrots and beets in the center and I’m hoping they get enough sun to grow.  I thought about growing lettuce in there but I was worried that when the cucumbers got too thick I wouldn’t be able to harvest it and it would be wasted.

I’ll let you know how it works out in the fall.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is now the view from my back door.  I like how it’s a little askew so I’ll still be able to see my pretty garden gate bean trellis.

As you can see to the right of this picture, I still have a lot of branches left so I’m thinking some cages for my tomatoes…but I think those are going to be a little more complicated so it might be a couple of days before I get around to that!

-A

2 thoughts on “Tree Branch Trellis

  1. This is a great idea, using what nature has provided, and it looks so nice.

    Take care and happy gardening to ya, from Laura ~

Leave a Reply

