Back in April I made a window box for my front window.

Then it fell down and my front patio looked like this for several weeks:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI had those railroad ties lying around and initially thought I could just prop them up and rest the window box on top.  Didn’t work.

So to the saw I went!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy confidence was high as I cut all the boards

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAand then glued and screwed two pieces on each “leg” to hold the top and shelf.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAssembly was really easy…except the top wasn’t long enough.  I didn’t consider that while the shelf piece sat between the boards…the top needed to go all the way across.  So, I added some smaller pieces on each end to bridge the gap.

Then dark clouds started to move in so I scrambled to get my saw back inside and I hauled my table into the laundry room where it got a coat of exterior white paint.

The paint was dry this morning so I took put it in place.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA And now the patio looks like this!

I don’t think I could be happier with how this turned out!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI took my mom to a greenhouse over the weekend to celebrate (late) Mother’s Day and I picked up the habaneros and tomatillos (shown in yesterday’s post,) a tree for the front yard (more on that coming soon!) and some flowers to fill up my window box and flower pots.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy plan is to put more pansies in that white flower pot on that bottom shelf and that’s probably it-I don’t feel like I need to fill this thing up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI still need to paint the corner post and hang up my shade cloth and I’ll be ready for summer!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANow I can finally enjoy my flowers from the inside too!

-A

One thought on “Window Box Table

Leave a Reply

