My neighbors have an elm tree and a month ago it dropped gazillions of seeds all over my yard. And every single one sprouted.  Seriously.

They’re growing in the tiny crack between my planter and my patio

elms8

and in stray pots

elms6and even on Henry’s outdoor dog bed (I know, I know…) where there isn’t even any dirt!

elms10

elms9

I feel like I’ve been invaded!

Take this bed, for example:

elms4Garlic is supposed to be growing here but

elms5instead it’s full of millions and millions of elm sprouts.  It’s overwhelming so I obviously haven’t done anything with it.  I keep hoping that one day I’ll wake up and they’ll all be gone.  In reality, I know I’m going to have to suck it up and pick them all out.  It’s not going to be fun.

elms7The tricky part with these is initially they look like everything else I’m trying to grow so I have to let them get bigger (and take over) so I can tell them apart from all the things that I don’t want to pick and kill.

They’re finally big enough to tell apart from the good guys so tonight I weeded my tomato planter,

elms1(not so bad)

elms2and the bed with the squash, zucchini, beets and carrots.  It wasn’t terrible.

elms3and there were a lot more hiding under the radish leaves.

In all I filled a grocery bag with elm sprouts and I’m covered in mosquito bites so I called it a night after just those beds.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll have the energy to tackle the elm tree farm garlic bed.

-A

Leave a Reply

