I have been dragging 100 feet of hose all the way around my house for the last several weeks.

I only had to water a couple of times before May turned into one constant rainstorm so I had conveniently forgotten what a pain it was to water until this week when the rain dried up.

I felt like I could be in an infomercial as the “before” person.  You know how they always look frazzled and frustrated?  I was.  It took me an hour plus to water and I’m sure half of that time was spent dragging, un-kinking, and cussing.

So when I found a pin for this tutorial I figured it was worth a try.

hose1This was my hose situation before.  I didn’t use it.  By the time I was done watering I was so frustrated that I just left the hose in the yard and walked away from it.

I went to Lowe’s this morning and bought

hose2a cedar post ($15)

hose4and some wood curtain rod finials ($8.)

hose3I cut the post in half and cut another board to a square and glued and screwed it on top.

hose5Then I glued the finial on top of that and caulked around it.

hose6I had this hose holder already so I screwed it onto the post

hose7and then made a second one (again with a hose holder I already had.)

I spray painted the first one and while it was drying I dug a hole.

hose8I thought about putting this several places but the other options would have limited how far the hose would reach so I put it here.  You’ll notice that the end of the hose is hanging into the planter.  I have a small leak at the hose bib and have found that if I leave the sprayer nozzle at the other end of the hose open my plants enjoy the extra drips of water (rather than the driveway.)  It’s not a good permanent solution but works until I can get a plumber here to fix it.

hose9The one for the front yard is still drying so I won’t be able to set it up until tomorrow but just having this one has already cut my watering time down!  AND I even put the hose away when I was done!

-A

Leave a Reply

