This weekend I went to Durango for a reunion at the college I went to.

Because I always seem to, I got stuck in traffic.  Three times.  

dgo1

Luckily the longest stop (30 minutes!) was in a spot that I still had cell service so I wasn’t bored.  The third stop was on Red Mountain Pass which is equally beautiful and terrifying.  You should drive it at least once!

dgo11

I haven’t been back to Fort Lewis College since I finished school in 2009 and it has changed so much!  I worked as an RA for the housing department there from 1999-2003 and then came back as a Hall Director in 2006.  I loved, loved, loved living and working on campus so when the Alumni Association announced that they were hosting a reunion I knew I had to go.

dgo24We had people from the 1960s all the way up to the 2000s represented!

dgo2

It was wonderful to see people I had worked with and hear stories about other people’s experiences working in the same buildings where I lived more than 30 years later!

dgo13

A small group of us stayed in one of the residence halls and I’m so glad we did!  I had already forgotten how small our rooms (and those beds!) were!  (The room above is an RA room so it’s smaller than the rooms for residents.)

dgo12

The college is on a mesa above Durango and on Saturday morning I couldn’t resist walking out to the rim to see the clouds around the mountains.

dgo15

We spent Saturday walking around town and doing some shopping.  And I took tons of pictures of old things!

dgo16

dgo17

dgo18

My friend went into a bookstore and I followed her.  And I regretted it.

dgo19

The whole store was like that.  I was overwhelmed and immediately had to go back outside.

dgo20

The yarn store?  Amazing!  Beautifully organized and so colorful-just what I needed to recover from the bookstore!

dgo8

We ended Saturday wit a BBQ on campus, some storytelling and a gorgeous sunset.

On Sunday I met up with another friend, got a much needed pedicure and enjoyed catching up and relaxing!

I took this week off from work and since there was a Home Depot in Durango, I stopped by and picked up lumber for a couple of projects I have planned.

dgo22

Because you can take the girl out of her house but you can’t take the house out of the girl!

-A

Leave a Reply

